You can’t drive in Arkansas without meeting the state’s requirements for auto insurance—but there’s no law that says you have to pay too much. Unfortunately, figuring out how much you should be paying is complicated.
Car insurance rates vary from place to place. Even within Arkansas, a person in Little Rock can’t expect to get the same rates as a person in Pine Bluff. And for a variety of reasons, you probably won’t pay the same rates as your neighbor.
So how much does car insurance cost in Arkansas? It’s a complicated question to answer – but knowing how rates are determined can help us get started.
The Factors That Impact Your Auto Insurance Rates
When calculating your car insurance premiums, an insurance company will consider many different factors.
- Your personal information – This often includes your age and where you live. It may also include your credit score and your gender. Exactly what’s included will depend on both the laws in your state and the insurance company’s policies.
- Your driving record – If you have a lot of crashes or tickets on your record, you can expect to pay more for car insurance. More serious violations – such as DUIs – will have a greater impact on your rates. A clean record will count in your favor. Taking driving courses to brush up on your skills can help, too.
- Coverage lapses – If you’ve let your auto insurance lapse, you may be charged higher rates when you finally purchase car insurance again. In addition to making sure you’re protected and staying on the right side of the law, this is another reason why it’s important to maintain coverage.
- How much you drive – The more you drive, the more opportunities there are for something to go wrong. A long commute could count against you when it comes to getting good insurance rates.
- Commercial usage – Personal auto insurance does not typically cover commercial activities, like delivering pizza or driving around paying customers. For that, you need commercial coverage, and it can cost more.
- Coverage amount – Arkansas drivers need to maintain liability coverage with at least $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident and $25,000 for property damage. However, you may wish to purchase higher limits. You may also want additional coverage types, such as uninsured motorist coverage. If you have a car loan, you may be required to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage, as well.
- Your deductible – If you file a claim, the deductible is the amount you will pay out of pocket before the insurance company pays its portion. In general, the higher your deductible is, the lower your premium will be – but make sure you can afford to pay your deductible, or you’ll find yourself in a difficult spot if you ever have to file a claim.
- Your discounts – You may qualify for discounts that will help lower the amount you pay for auto insurance. Many insurance companies offer discounts for good students and good drivers. You may also qualify for a discount if you agree to enroll in a telematics program that tracks your driving.
Typical Individual Auto Insurance Rates in Your Neck of the Woods
It’s hard to talk about typical auto insurance rates. There’s just too much variation for ANYTHING to be considered typical. At the same, seeing real quotes can be helpful.
We’ve plugged some hypothetical situations into the Jupiter Auto quote tool. Additional factors may impact the rates. Nevertheless, the results show how changing certain details will impact the cost.
Let’s start with a 35-year-old man living in Little Rock, ZIP code 72203.
He owns a 2011 Ford Taurus (4DR SDN SE FWD), which he’s still making payments on and he uses mostly to commute to and from work. He’s not married, and he graduated college with a B average. He is currently insured, and he wants coverage within the next month. If he goes with the minimum liability coverage plus collision and comprehensive insurance, he’ll pay $226.40 per month with $269.40 down.
He’s paying more because his lender requires him to maintain collision and comprehensive coverage. If he paid off his loan and decided to go only with liability insurance, his premiums would drop significantly. He’d only be paying $100.80 per month with $141.00 down. He could save even more money by making a one-time, semi-annual payment of $585.00 instead of monthly payments.
Where he lives also makes a difference. In Conway, ZIP code 72032, basic liability insurance would cost him $76.20 per month with $115.00 down. If he moves to Rogers, ZIP code 72756, he’ll only pay $72.40 per month with $111.00 down for basic liability insurance.
How about a 60-year-old man in Fayetteville, ZIP code 72703?
He drives a 2013 Cadillac Escalade (2WD 4DR BASE), and he’s not making payments on it. He might pay $64.20 per month with $103.00 down for basic liability insurance. Over in Springdale, ZIP code 72762, his rate would stay about the same. If he moved to Pine Bluff, ZIP code 71601, he might be paying $115.00 per month with $155.00 down.
Now let’s look at a 25-year-old woman in North Little Rock, ZIP code 72117.
She owns a 2015 Toyota Corolla (4DR SDN), which she uses mostly for pleasure, and she is not making payments. She is not married. She has taken a driver training course recently. She is currently insured, and she wants coverage to start within the next month. She’s looking at $104.40 per month with $144.00 down for basic liability coverage. If she moved to Bentonville, ZIP code 72712, she’d pay $80.60 per month with $120.00 down.
Auto Insurance Coverage for Families
If you’re married, you and your spouse will typically share a car insurance policy.
Let’s look at a couple in Fort Smith, ZIP code 72903.
The husband is 30 years old and the wife 32 years old. They have one car, a 2009 Buick Enclave (AWD 4DR CX) that they own and use to commute. They are currently insured. They might pay as little as $64.80 per month with $104.00 down for basic liability.
But what happens if the same couple decides to buy a second vehicle, a 2019 Nissan Frontier (CREW CAB 4X4 SL AUTO) that they’ll be making payments on? To insure both vehicles, and to get collision and comprehensive coverage on the Nissan, they’ll be looking at $201.60 per month with $244.00 down.
Once teenagers start driving, they need to be added to insurance policy. Let’s see how much insurance costs for a family in Jonesboro, ZIP code 72402. The husband and wife are both 40, and the daughter is 17. They have two cars: a 1999 Land Rover Discovery SD and a 2012 Ford Econoline Wagon (E-150). They’re not making payments on either vehicle. Basic liability insurance for all three drivers will be about $219.20 per month with $262.00 down.
If the daughter is excluded from the policy, the rates drops to $99.80 per month with $140 down – but the daughter will need insurance, so unless she’s covered under a separate policy, this isn’t a good idea.
How Much Will You Pay for Auto Insurance in Arkansas?
These examples show how buying a new car or moving to a different ZIP can really impact your auto insurance. However, these examples don’t show exactly how much you’ll pay for insurance. To get started on a personalized quote, you can use Jupiter Auto online quote tool yourself.
Getting a quote with this online tool only takes a few minutes. You’ll need to provide a little information about yourself, your vehicle and your insurance needs. You do NOT have to supply your phone number or email address.
Once you’re done answering the questions, you’ll get a quote right away. If you like it, you can buy the policy online or over the phone. If you’re not ready, you can always shop around and come back later if you want.