The Keys to Texas Auto Insurance
Texas, aka the Lone Star State, has a long and proud history. From the Battle of the Alamo to the Johnson Space Center in Houston, it’s clear that big things happen in Texas. Whether you’re enjoying music in Austin, barbeque in Dallas or the beauty of the Big Bend National Park, you need great Texas auto insurance as you travel this enormous state. Get the best Texas insurance with Jupiter Auto.
Texas Car Insurance Basics
When you buy auto insurance in Texas, it has to meet the minimum requirements set forth by the state. These minimums cover some of the damage you could cause to another vehicle or person.
- Minimum $30,000 for injuries per person
- Minimum $60,000 for injuries per accident
- Minimum $25,000 for damage to property
You must show proof of insurance at various time, including when you register your car, at the time of an accident and when asked by a police officer. Your insurance company must be licensed by the state, and it must provide you with documentation. You can find more information here.
How to Get the Best Texas Auto Insurance for Your Money
You want a good deal on auto insurance, and Jupiter Auto wants to help you get it. A few decisions you make can help you get auto insurance at a low cost.
- Maintain a clean driving record. Safe drivers get the best insurance rates. Avoid speeding. Pay attention to the road. Never drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and wait until you’re done driving to check your text messages. It will keep you safe and your auto insurance rates down.
- Consider getting more than the minimum insurance required in Texas. Buying more insurance to save money may seem counterintuitive, but if you get into an accident, you’ll be glad you did. Medical and car repair costs can be extremely expensive these days. If your insurance doesn’t cover everything, you can be responsible for the rest. You’ll also want insurance to cover any injuries to yourself or property damage to your own car if you cause an accident. In case you get hit by an uninsured motorist, you’ll want an uninsured/underinsured Texas auto insurance policy.
- Don’t forget about the deductible. The deductible is the amount you pay out of pocket when an accident occurs. The premium is the amount you pay every month to maintain insurance. Higher deductibles come with lower premiums, so it may be tempting to get a high deductible, but don’t agree to a deductible that you won’t be able to afford. Find the right balance between premium and deductible costs to fit your finances.
Staying Prepared and Safe of Texas Road Trips
Everything’s big in Texas, including the state itself. If you’re going on a road trip across the Lone Star State, you need to be prepared for everything from plains to forests to deserts. The weather varies from sizzling hot to snowy, and floods, tornadoes and hurricanes are all possible.
- When you go on a Texas road trip, plan for the environment and the weather. In the hot summers, watch your car to make sure it doesn’t overheat. In the cold winters, be extra cautious when driving on bridges, which can ice over before other parts of the road.
- Before heading out, stock your car with essential supplies, including a spare tire, a jack and lug wrench and a first aid kit. Find more items that you should keep in your car here.
Keep Texas Auto Insurance Rates Low by Obeying the Rules of the Road
Each state has its own traffic laws, so make sure you know what the traffic laws in Texas are.
- If you’re found driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, you’ll be convicted of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). You may also face charges if you show signs of impairment even with a lower BAC or if you have an open container of alcohol in the car.
- After an auto collision in Texas, you should check for injuries. Move your car out of the way and exchange information. Call the police if anyone is injured or you cannot move the vehicles. Also call the police if the other driver appears intoxicated, has no insurance or flees the scene of the accident. You have 10 days to report accidents to the Texas DMV.
- Expect red light cameras on Texas state highways. Many municipalities have installed them.
- Avoid using your cell phone while driving. Cell phone use is prohibited in school zones, by drivers under the age of 18 and by drivers with learner’s permits. Some cities have additional restrictions of cell phone use. Look here for more information.
- Wear your seatbelt. Otherwise, you could receive a ticket
Texas License and Registration: Maintaining the Necessary Paperwork
Avoid problems by maintaining required paperwork.
- Proof of Texas auto insurance—You may be asked to show this if a police officer stops you or if you are in an accident.
- Your license—If you need to change your address or renew your Texas license, you may be able to do so online.
- Registration—Your vehicle needs to pass an annual inspection to maintain registration, and many counties require emissions tests. For more information or to find an inspection station, go here.